International Committee

The International Committee actively pursues the internationalization of North American children's literature research by broadening the spectrum of primary and secondary literature discussed at the annual meetings and in the publications of ChLA. The committee assembles a special country focus panel at the Association's annual conference and selects the recipient of ChLA's International Sponsorship Grant.  

Composition of the Committee:

The International Committee consists of six rotating members elected for three-year terms and a chair appointed by the President with the approval of the Executive Board for a term of three years. Terms begin immediately following the ChLA annual business meeting.

Committee Members:

Chair: Lara Saguisag, New York University, 2023-2026
Deirdre McMahon, Drexel University, 2021-2024
Heather Cyr, Kwantlen Polytechnic University, 2021-2024
Carrie Anne Thomas, The Ohio State University, 2022-2025
Bornali Nath Dowerah, Manohari Devi Kanoi Girls' College, 2023-2026
Samira Abdur-Rahman, The College of New Jersey, 2023-2026
Maria Truglio, Penn State, 2023-2026

ChLA Board Liaison:

Ngozi Onuora

The official blog of the International Committee of ChLA

International Children’s and Young Adult Book Awards
compiled by Jane M. Gangi, Ph.D.

Aboriginal Children’s Book of the Year. There is not a specific link for this award, but running a Google search on the terms--in quotation marks--“Aboriginal Children’s Book of the Year” will provide books by indigenous artists from Canada.

American Library Association Coretta Scott King Award. Books by and about Africans and African Americans:

American Library Association Mildred L. Batchelder Award. Books first written in a language other than English, then translated into English are considered for this award:

American Library Association Pura Belpré Medal and Honor Awards. Books by and about Latinos/as:

Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association. Books by and about Asians and Asian Americans:

Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award. The world’s largest prize for children’s and young adult literature goes to an author or illustrator of longstanding merit:

Canadian Library Association Book of the Year for Children Award. Books published in North America:

Center for Latin American and Caribbean Studies Américas Book Award for Children’s and Young Adult Literature. Books by and about Latinos/as and the Caribbean:

Children’s Book Council of Australia Children’s Book of the Year Awards. Books on Australia:

The Children’s Literature Association Phoenix Award. Some of the books are international; awarded for a book published 20 years earlier that did not receive the recognition it deserved at the time of publication:

Feng Zikai Chinese Children’s Picture Book Award. Honors contributors to Chinese children’s literature:

France’s Prix Sorcières.

Golden Kite Award. Presented by the Society of Children’ Book Writers and Illustrators:

International Board on Books for Young Readers (IBBY). Awards outstanding international books:

International Reading Association (IRA) Notable Books for a Global Society:

German Youth Literature Award (Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis):

Hans Christian Andersen Award. For an author or illustrator who has made a long-lasting contribution:

Jane Addams Book for Older Children Awards and Honor Books and Jane Addams Picture Book Awards and Honor Books. In honor of Jane Addams:

Middle East Book Award:

Skipping Stones Award, Multicultural and International. Honors books that build cross-cultural bridges:

The United Kingdom’s Carnegie Medal:

The United Kingdom’s Kate Greenaway Medal:

United States Board on Books for Young People. The American affiliate of the International Board on Books for Young Readers:

Welsh Books Council Tir Na N-Og Award. Recognizes books about Wales: