Article Award Committee

The ChLA Article Award is given annually by the Children's Literature Association to recognize outstanding articles of literary criticism published in English on the topic of children's literature within a given year.

Composition of the Committee:

The Article Award Committee consists of six rotating members elected for three-year terms and a chair appointed by the President with the approval of the Executive Board for a term of three years. Terms begin immediately following the ChLA annual business meeting.

Committee Members:

Chair: Ruth E. Quiroa, National Louis University, 2021-2024
Amy Montz, University of Southern Indiana, 2020-2023
Alexandra Valint, University of Southern Mississippi, 2020-2023
Caren Town, Georgia Southern University, 2020-2023
Jeremy Johnston, Western University, 2021-2023
Gabrielle Owen, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, 2022-2025
Emma McNamara, Ohio State University, 2022-2025

ChLA Board Liaison:

Victoria Ford Smith, University of Connecticut, 2021-2022

Article Award Winners