Judith Plotz Emerging Scholar Award Committee

The Judith Plotz Emerging Scholar Award is awarded annually by the Children's Literature Association to recognize outstanding articles of literary criticism by new, never-before-published article authors on the topic of children's literature within a given year.

Composition of the Committee:

The Judith Plotz Emerging Scholar Award Committee consists of six rotating members elected for three-year terms and a chair appointed by the President with the approval of the Executive Board for a term of three years. Terms begin immediately following the ChLA annual business meeting.

Committee Members:

Chair: Sara Austin, Miami University, 2021-2024
Co-Chair/Committee Member: Emily, Midkiff, University of North Dakota, 2021-2024
Megan Musgrave, IUPUI, 2022-2025
Laura Hakala, University of North Carolina, 2023-2026
Philip Nel, Kansas State University, 2023-2026
Tyler Sasser, University of Alabama, 2023-2026

ChLA Board Liaison:

Pete Kunze, Tulane University