Book Award Committee

The ChLA Book Award is awarded annually by the Children's Literature Association to recognize outstanding book-length contributions to children's literature scholarship and criticism.

Composition of the Committee:

The Book Award Committee consists of six members, two elected each year for a term of three years, and a chair, who is appointed by the President with the approval of the Executive Board for a term of three years. Terms begin immediately following the ChLA annual business meeting.

Committee Members:

Chair: Joseph Micheal Sommers, Central Michigan University, 2021-2024
Courtney Weikle-Mills, University of Pittsburgh, 2020-2023
Anastasia Ulanowicz, University of Florida, 2020-2023
Tiffany A. Flowers, Georgia State University Perimeter College, 2021-2024
Julia Mickenberg, University of Texas at Austin, 2021-2024
Valerie Byrd-Fort, University of South Carolina, 2022-2025
Hannah Field, University of Sussex, 2022-2025

ChLA Board Liaison:

Chris McGee, Longwood University, 2021-2022


Book Award Winners