Mentoring Award

(Submission Period: December 15 - February 1)


The Children’s Literature Association is pleased to announce the ChLA Mentoring Award. The award recognizes excellence in mentoring taking place within the ChLA and extending beyond the boundaries of the mentor's own university. Awardees will have contributed in significant ways to enhancing others' scholarship and/or professional careers within the field of children's literature over a substantial period of time. Such mentorship may take place in a variety of contexts, including but not limited to organizational committee work, journal or other professional editing work, ChLA discussions of teaching and/or career-building, and informal contacts.

Nomination packets will be assembled by a nominator who has decided to spearhead this task and to solicit additional material from others who may be interested in furthering the nomination; packets should contain 3-5 letters and a cover sheet with the name and contact information of the nominee and the nominator. Packets should total no more than 10 pages in length, excluding cover sheet. At least two letters must come from people who have never been students or departmental colleagues of the nominee, and all nomination letters must come from current ChLA members. The award will be adjudicated by a committee appointed by the immediate Past President and will consist of a framed certificate presented at the annual ChLA conference. Winners will also be presented with a folder containing the letters written on their behalf.

For further information, contact the ChLA Coordinator, by email at [email protected] or by phone at (630) 571-4520.

2019:  No award given
2018:  Michelle Martin (University of Washington)
Leona Fisher (Georgetown University)
2017:  June Cummins (San Diego State University)
2016:  Margaret Mackey (University of Alberta)
2015:  No award given
2014:  Marilynn Olson (Texas State University)