Anne Devereaux Jordan Award

Recognizes significant contributions in scholarship and/or service to the field of children's literature. The award is considered annually and given as warranted. The winner receives a framed certificate that is traditionally presented at the Association's annual conference banquet. Additionally, the winner is invited to attend the conference to accept the award, and if able to attend, receives complimentary conference registration including a banquet ticket, and lodging at the designated conference venue.

How to Nominate:

Nominations for the Anne Devereaux Jordan Award are welcome from any current ChLA member. Nominations should be sent to the current ADJ Committee chair by October 1 of a given year. When nominating someone, please keep in mind that the award recognizes service and/or scholarship in the field of children's literature over the course of a career, though "service" to our field can be identified in a variety of ways. Please indicate how the nominee has contributed in one or both of these areas in your nomination letter.

Recipients of the Anne Devereaux Jordan Award for Outstanding Achievement in Children's Literature

2019: Riitta Oittinen
2018: Rudine Sims Bishop
2017: Margaret Mackey
2016: Mark I. West (Acceptance Speech Video)
2015: Judith Plotz
2014: John Stephens
2013: John Cech
2012: Karen Nelson Hoyle
2011: J. D. Stahl
2010: Betsy Hearne
2009: Elizabeth Keyser
2008: Jill P. May
2007: Ulrich Knoepflmacher
2006: Barbara Rosen
2005: Peter Neumeyer
2004: Sheila Egoff
2003: Gillian Adams
2002: Lois Kuznets
2001: Alethea Helbig
2000: Jon Stott
1999: Jack Zipes
1998: Jean Perrot
1997: Roderick McGillis
1996: No award given
1995: Roni Natov and Geraldine DeLuca
1994: Francelia Butler
1993: No award given
1992: Anne Devereaux Jordan